Park Board

The City of Spokane Parks & Recreation Park Board consists of ten volunteer members from throughout the community.

Mission Statement/Purpose: The Spokane Park Board was created in 1910 and granted power by Article V of the City Charter to layout, establish, purchase, procure, accept and have the care, management, control, and improvement of all parks grounds and parkways controlled by the City of Spokane and used for park purposes. The Charter also mandates eight percent of the City’s annual expenditures be earmarked for Parks and Recreation. Additional funding comes from fees and charges for programs and services. The City’s golf courses are operated as an enterprise fund and are not supported by tax dollars.

Park Board Meeting date, time and location: The Board meets on Thursdays at 1:30 p.m. in the City Council Chambers, City Hall.

Regular Study Session Meeting date, time and location: Thursdays – 3:30 p.m., or as soon as possible thereafter, directly following Park Board Meeting City Hall Conference Room 3B

Board Members

Board Member Term Ends
Chris Wright, President 2019
Steve Salvatori 2022
Rick Chase 2022
Ross Kelley 2018
Greta Gilman 2018
Sally Vantress-Lodato 2022
Jennifer Ogden 2021
Nick Sumner 2020
Ted McGregor 2020
Mike Fagan Council Liaison

For more information on the Park Board, including agendas, minutes and study sessions, please click here.